Monday, February 25, 2008


Sixty - Two Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

The Kentucky State Police Academy graduated its first class in more than two years today with 62 state trooper cadets receiving diplomas at ceremonies in Frankfort. Their addition to the force brings the agency’s strength to a total of 961 sworn officers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.
In addressing the new troopers, Lt. Gov. Daniel Mongiardo praised their commitment to public service. “No profession is more essential to our quality of life than law enforcement,” he noted. “Without safety and security, nothing else is possible. Your efforts touch our daily lives and help keep the fabric of society together. What you do is of tremendous value and we thank you for it.”
The new troopers included four women, three African Americans and one Hispanic. Their training included more than 1,000 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigation, survival Spanish, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.
“This class started a 23-week training cycle on Sept. 29, 2007 with 92 cadets and faced daily challenges that required intelligence, physical stamina, sacrifice and a deep commitment to service,” said KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer. “Due to these demands, the attrition rate was high, but the end result will be better trained troopers in the field. Each one of these cadets deserves a salute for achieving this goal.”
“Seventy-eight troopers have retired since the last cadet class graduated in December of 2005,” Brewer added. “We are encouraged by the addition of this new group of troopers to replenish our ranks.”
Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Richard Russell, of Hazard, Ky., and salutatorian Joshua Cummings, of Albany, Ky.
Jeffrey Ayres, of Clarksville, Tenn., received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, distinguishes themself as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy’s physical and vocational training.
The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences: POST 1 - MAYFIELD Jason Clark, Lynnville, Ky. Eric Fields, Paducah, Ky. Jon Pagan, Lexington, Ky. Jonathan Paull, Summer Shade, Ky. Anthony Trotter, Seco, Ky. Byron White, Murray, Ky. Alison Wommer, Tamaqua, Penn.
POST 2 - MADISONVILLE Carlo Anderson, Franklin, Ky. Jeffrey Ayres, Clarksville, Tenn. Stephen Oughton, Radcliff, Ky. Luis Palmer, Radcliff, Ky. Jacob Wilson, Williamsburg, Ky.
POST 3 - BOWLING GREEN Jeremy Ferguson, Albany, Ky. Kevin Mayfield, Bowling Green, Ky. Graham Rutherford, Cave City, Ky.
POST 4 - ELIZABETHTOWN Robert Baumgardner, Upton, Ky. Joshua Cummings, Albany, Ky. Ryan Johnson, Elizabethtown, Ky. Daniel Leonard, Radcliff, Ky.
POST 5 - CAMPBELLSBURG Jermaine Kilgore, Louisville, Ky. Michael Luttrell, Hazard, Ky. Brandon Maupin, Glasgow, Ky. Timothy Moore, Eminence, Ky. Kenneth Wall, Columbia, Ky.
POST 6 - DRY RIDGE Douglas Carter, Lawrenceburg, Ky. Edward Kuehne Jr., Taylor Mill, Ky. Jeremy Moore, Falmouth, Ky. Steven Robb, Lexington, Ky.
POST 7 - RICHMOND Donnie Foley, Williamsburg, Ky. Phillip Powell, Berea, Ky.
POST 8 - MOREHEAD Charles Bolin, West Liberty, Ky. Chad Bowling, Flemingsburg, Ky. William Ferrell, Frenchburg, Ky. William Gabbard, McKee, Ky. Joshua Pigman, Premium, Ky. Nathan Shortridge, Mt. Sterling, Ky. Jonathan Sizemore, Stinett, Ky. Whitney Small, Georgetown, Ky. Chad Wagner, Barbourville, Ky.
POST 9 - PIKEVILLE Darrell Arnett, Salyersville, Ky. Joshua Brewer, Combs, Ky. Danny Caudill, Harlan, Ky. Randall Coots, Smilax, Ky. Joseph Dials, Mallie, Ky. Dallas Greer, Corbin, Ky. Richard Russell, Hazard, Ky. Michael Webb, Phyllis, Ky. Issac Whitaker, Viper, Ky. Donald White, Hindman, Ky.
POST 10 - HARLAN Gary Ridener, Corbin, Ky.
POST 14 - ASHLAND Joshua Brashears, Cumberland, Ky. Jeffery Kelley, Ironton, Ohio Brittney McMaine, Waco, Ky. Jonathan Pennington, Grayson, Ky.
POST 15 - COLUMBIA John Barnett, Somerset, Ky. Brian Coyt, Jellico, Tenn. Tracy Haynes, Burnside, Ky. Adam Likins, Somerset, Ky. Daniel Stephens, Edmonton, Ky.
POST 16 - HENDERSON Michael Heady, Sturgis, Ky. Gregory Newman, Bremen, Ky. Kenneth Sandusky, Richmond, Ky.
Courtesy: Press release from Kentucky State Police.

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?